WhatsApp is currently working on a number of updates to provide a better user experience. One of these features includes the new self-deleting feature called “delete messages”.
How does it work?
The feature will be initially available for group chats and can be enabled by the group’s administrators. Once enabled, the feature can be toggled in Contact Info or Group Settings. In the settings, you’ll see a bunch of buttons. Once you press ON, there will be options available from which you can choose the time period after which you want your messages to be deleted.
There are five options for time intervals to choose from – 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, 1 month and 1 year. According to these time intervals, the sent messages will be automatically deleted from the chat. For example, if the user chooses 1 day, the messages that the user sent, will be deleted after 24 hours.
WhatsApp already contains a “delete for everyone feature”. This new feature is different from that. After you long press a message, you can either delete the message for just yourself or for everyone. But the app still displays, “This message has been deleted” on the chat screen.
But in the “delete messages” feature, the message will be disappeared completely from the screen. Just the same way as Instagram works this feature.
The feature is being simultaneously rolled out on the Beta version number 2.19.348. Users who have enrolled themselves for the Google Play beta program can download the latest version. Alternatively, you can also manually update the app by downloading it from the APK available on the APK Mirror platform.
Coming to the dark mode feature, WhatsApp may soon roll out the ‘Dark Mode’ feature on phones starting with iOS 13 users, as reports suggest. WhatsApp however, has not officially confirmed as to when the feature will be live. WhatsApp also recently rolled out call waiting support, chat screen redesign and other features for its iPhone users.