Real Madrid president says clubs can’t leave ‘European Super League’

Only three clubs have not abandoned the project

Real Madrid president Florentino Perez has said that the 12 clubs that had earlier decided to join the new European Super League cannot leave now as they are under binding contracts.

As of now, 9 teams have already announced that they are no longer part of the Super League which includes all 6 English Clubs. Only Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Juventus are the teams that have not yet abandoned the project.

I don’t need to explain what a binding contract is, but effectively the clubs cannot leave. Some of them, due to pressure, have said they’re leaving. But this project, or one very similar, will move forward and I hope very soon.

Florentino Perez

Perez has said that the project is on standby in the aftermath of Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham’s withdrawal. Earlier Juventus chairman has said that with other teams formally pulling out, the project could no longer proceed.


“They have taken some time for reflection, just like the 12 clubs. If we need to make changes we will but the Super League is the best project we’ve thought of,” Perez said. He also added that it was not true that American investment bank JP Morgan had abandoned the project.

JP Morgan is supposedly investing 3.5bn euro in the founding members of the proposed league.

“What we have done is taken a few weeks to reflect in light of the fury of certain people who don’t want to lose their privileges and have manipulated the project.”

After the announcement of the proposed many fans showed their displeasure on the ESL and labelled this as a means to earn more money by the big clubs.


Read more: European Super League in jeopardy as most clubs withdraw from the league